top of page

The Great Debate: Dressers -VS- Closets

I don't know if this is actually a debate or not, but it is a source of internal conflict for me. A slow convert to minimalism (I'm going to get there one sale/bag of donate stuff at a time) and a sort of adherer to the hot trend of having a capsule wardrobe- I have a conundrum that I face every time I put my clothes away. Should I commit and embrace my amazing (gorgeous, stupendously expensive) ELFA closet by The Container Store? OR should I maintain my dresser, and leave the closet for my shirts and dresses?

I don't have a snazzy walk in closet- I have a wall of closet (which SUCKS for a Master Bedroom, but that's another blog post!)I grew up with a furniture addict, and it seems *almost* sacrilege to NOT have a dresser in the bedroom. But I keep considering it. How stunning would it be to walk in to a bedroom with just a bed, a dressing table, and a wall of doors that neatly contained my clothing? I feel like that would be way easier to keep clean, and certainly would be easier to move, but....it is pictures like this that just make me drool.

Photo: http://interiorsbystudiom.com/sideboard-cabinet-mid-century-modern-retro-furniture-interior-design/

It's that stunning? I mean really- that is a dresser. And I HAVE ONE. It isn't that gorgeous, but I love me some MCM furniture and I've got a matching set. One (the highboy) is going to be for the man, with a hidden mini bar for the ultimate adult bedroom. But I go back and forth between the minimalism and the weight that a dresser gives. I want the house to feel like a home, with people who live there and thrive- not something we just moved into.

Thoughts?

Want more? Check out more recent posts!
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page