top of page

Summer Wedding Fever

SO, since I know I've got some pretty snazzy ideas, I'm putting together a wedding inspiration post, cause you know you've needed inspiration for your wedding, right?!?! Also, maybe one day this little blog will be famous and I can get it gifted to me (who knows, a girl can dream, right?)

http://www.petethomasoutdoors.com/2013/10/diving-whale-stars-in-amazing-monterey-bay-sunset-photo.html

Yeah, I'd get married at the beach. At sunset. I wanted to be a marine biologist when I was younger, (okay, I wanted Willy from Free Willy to be my bestie and save the world. That's still science-y and cool.)

That love of the ocean has never left, and if I could, I'd get married at this

one specific place near the beach...

The Monterey Bay Aquarium. I would, in a heartbeat. Tell me that isn't the most stunning shot you've ever seen?

Have everyone sit here for the ceremony, then move onto that killer deck for cocktails and dancing? Yes please. (And I don't even dance. But I would!)

I just can't think of a more picturesque wedding. Plus, sometimes otters come into the tide pool during high tide- how cute would it be if the heavens decided to grace you with a pair of hand holding otters as you tie the knot? Cute the "Awwwws!"

And if it was going to rain? How about HERE instead?

Nothing says "eternal love" like the Open Seas exhibit. The benefit to both is you can let your love of the sea shine without having starfish and sand dollars everywhere... but would it be awful to have sushi?

Everything about this is so, so amazing. Best of all, I don't think that it would have to feel formal or fussy. Obviously these two lovers over here-->

wanted something more formal (and it looks phenomenal!) but I think something casual would look great too (especially outside.)

I saw this dress at Anthropologie (Urban Outfitters more expensive, whimsical, not pot obsessed cousin) and fell in love.

Yeah.

It retails for $298 (Plenty by Tracy Reese) and I love it. I'm pretty sure that these models are about 5' tall though, because the blonde model on the Anthro website is roughly 5'10'' and it does not have that train on her.

Still, I'm loving the lace and the streamlined silhouette. This screams ME. Cue oldies soundtrack and some lemon drop cocktails and this would be a party to remember.

So, here is something for the men too. I love the idea of a linen or chambray suit, something that is lightweight and denim centered (I think we both wear denim every day!)

And how flippin' cute are the boys over there? ->

I don't have any little girls in the family, so my son would be rocking something along the lines of this.

Although...by the time I get married, my son may be rocking a suit like his dad.

The clothes are cute, you say. But, what about the all important jewelry? Isn't the dress and the ring the most important thing? Well, yeah. So- technically an engagement ring comes before everything mentioned above, but I'm taking liberties here. After all, it is a fantasy right?

Birds Eye Ring www.younginthemountains.com

BOOM! These beauties are made to order from local (ish, to me) jeweler YOUNGINTHEMOUNTAINS. Inspired by the Northern CA delta, they're all one of a kind. Perfect for a one of a kind love that flourished all over Northern California, right? (FYI, I'm not waiting for an engagement of one of these babies, I'm buying one for myself this Christmas. This is one of those pieces where I'm screaming "Get on my finger!!") But I can think of no cooler a ring for a unique couple.

So it is a great engagement ring-

how do you top that? For me, it isn't about topping it, but giving it a unique friend. I am not a fan of matched sets worn together, rather, I would want to mix and match, depending on the day and my outfit.

An imperfect diamond isn't as costly as a "real" ring- and for me, that is key.

It is super unique, rough around the edges, and also made locally in SF.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/friedasophie

So, what come next- food?

http://pigmentandparchment.com

I'd pick Pigment & Parchment to advertise that department. And do all the invitations. I love her whimsical calligraphy. She is ridiculously personable and fun to hang out with, and really enjoys what she does- and that reflects in her work. What better way to tie the down to earth setup with the higher end, amazing venue? Side note: Book her now before you can't afford to! She did the invites for the super secret MK Olsen wedding, and completed a CRAZY COOL map for their new shop. Now- onto the actual food!

If you have a donut wall at you wedding, I feel like you're winning at life. HOWEVER, since mine would be outside, and seagulls are outside...that could be an awful (awfully funny!) mistake.

Instead, I'd probably go with a food truck or two. They're supposedly cheaper than a regular caterer, and everything is self contained within the truck.

If they couldn't get onto the patio, I'd pick something small (easily contained) and filling, like cheese, bread, small sandwiches, and small mugs of clam chowder. (Really though, cocktails. It's all about the cocktails...)

Which would look awesome in these embossed pineapple drink dispensers, that won't break the bank at $25 apiece. (Thanks World Market!)

So, it looks like a pretty great party, right? Too bad it costs something like 10 grand just to reserve the Aquarium. Not something that I'll be able to shell out for anytime soon. I hope that I found some great ideas for you though! Let me know what I missed, or what could be added in the comments.

Sea, I otter plan your wedding (Sorry, I couldn't resist!)

Photos in order of posting:

1)http://www.petethomasoutdoors.com/2013/10/diving-whale-stars-in-amazing-monterey-bay-sunset-photo.html

2) http://gierbeer.com/the-wedding/

3) http://www.liliyaphotography.com/recent-shoots/aquarium-wedding

4) https://www.flickr.com/photos/seattleaquariumevents/4777995608/in/photostream/

5-7) http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/product/clothes-floorskimmers/4130204584077.jsp#/

8) Banana Republic (discontinued)

9)http://www.womangettingmarried.com/21-fun-easy-beach-wedding-ideas/

10) www.younginthemountains.com

11) https://www.etsy.com/shop/friedasophie

12)www.pigmentandparchment.com

13) http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/redeeming-wedding-food-creative-wedding-ideas-for-foodies-230881?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=managed

14)http://www.worldmarket.com/product/embossed+glass+pineapple+beverage+dispenser.do?&from=Search

15)http://www.sunset.com/travel/california/moneterey-bay-aquarium


Want more? Check out more recent posts!
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page